You are here:Home>CD Reviews>BeBop / Hard Bop - CD Reviews>Meditation-Solo Guitar by Pass Joe

Meditation-Solo Guitar by Pass Joe

Joe Pass was beside himself when label owner Norman Granz suggested that he play solo. He mentioned that the renowned Segovia, the greatest guitar player in the world played solo, so why not? Joe was very humble, and he would not think of looking upon himself in the same light as a Segovia. In reality, he was in that class of players.

For three fantastic dates in the winter of 1993 at Yoshi’s in Oakland California, Pass played solo guitar as if he was born to do so. He was a master at taking jazz standards like Ellington’s "Mood Indigo" and turning it into a classic rendition of his own. Another fine example is the Porter classic "It’s All Right With Me." He treated every song with gentleness and added his exquisite touch to make guitar magic like few ever have. As noted in the fine liner notes by Ken Dryden.... he never went onstage with a planned set, he played everything completely spontaneously. How many artists, jazz legends included, did that?

The nice thing about a release like this is that it is so fresh. It is not another rehashed album. From what I have read, there are many of these recordings just waiting to see the light of day for the first time. I truly look forward to hearing everything that has been sitting in the vaults. This was such a special recording and his music was so important to jazz and all the people that enjoy the particular brand of music live and in the studio. It is all so beautiful just like it is, purely instrumental. In fact, words would probably ruin it. There have not been many men that have played the electric guitar with such passion and fire while keeping that kind of energy harnessed, allowing the true essence and beauty of the instrument to be heard. Joe Pass was one that did it naturally.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Pass Joe
  • CD Title: Meditation-Solo Guitar
  • Genre: BeBop / Hard Bop
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Record Label: Pablo
  • Tracks: Meditation (Meditação) Shadow Waltz Mood Indigo More Than You Know When Your Lover Has Gone Everything Happens to Me Its All Right With Me I'll Never Be the Same You Stepped out of a Dream All the Things You Are How Deep Is the Ocean? They Can't Take That Away From'
  • Musicians: Joe Pass-Electric Guitar
  • Rating: Five Stars
Morrice Blackwell

Owner and publisher of, Morrice Blackwell is a christian husband dad jazz fan website developing marketing manager basketball playing engineer that lives for photography.

Login to post comments