You are here:Home>CD Reviews>BeBop / Hard Bop - CD Reviews>The Crooked Line by Nathan Ekland Group

The Crooked Line by Nathan Ekland Group

This new and exciting endeavor for Nathan Eklund and his group of established musicians, which is an adventure in the classic sound of jazz for the aficionado listener. This spin is precise in technique, mystical in its emotions, and diverse in its outcomes. The Crooked Line only crosses that which the listener does not expect, thus surprising the senses around each note executed. A very nice effort!

The Crooked Line has so many facets to it, from the manipulation of its brass personalities to the arrangements. "Isobel" is a fine example of the distinct brass collage mixed with the foundation of ivories near conclusion. This designed plan with the exit in vibrant brass makes "Isobel" a template of innovation.

Another trip is "Scatterbrained" which is far from its label.... On this we find Eklund playing with the precision percussion magic of Josh Dion, a duel which has no victor. However, the outcome offers a win for any jazz devotee.... Note the sax work by accomplished artist Craig Yaremko who adds so much to this effort!

Title cut "The Crooked Line" is just a cool spin with its changes and diverse auras. Again with much of this effort, the brass supremacy is solid however, at no time taking over the cut in totality. A must spin for those jazz fans at any level.

Eklund’s project is one that encompasses the numerous talents of his band. The spin is a sensitive yet strict execution in jazz. The Crooked Line is for the collector but more so, for the elusive fan who needs a true definition in innovative jazz!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Nathan Ekland Group
  • CD Title: The Crooked Line
  • Genre: BeBop / Hard Bop
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Record Label: Jazz Excursion
  • Tracks: The Mayor, Emancipated Thinking, Isobel, Scatterbrained Prelude, Scatterbrained, More Ways Than One, All the Things You Are, Kydee, Totem Pole, The Crooked Line.
  • Musicians: Nathan Eklund (trumpet, flugelhorn), Craig Yaremko (saxophones), Joe Elefante (piano), Brain Killeen (bass), Josh Dion (drums).
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments