You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Blues - CD Reviews>Ain’t That Somethin’ by D.C.& Co.

Ain’t That Somethin’ by D.C.& Co.

Several tracks are written by Dave Costarella, who also does the lead vocals on manysongs, giving this album a lively combination of ballads and instrumentals.

Take me Down is a high spirited lead-in tune with a folksy rock beat, followed by another rock-a-billy frolicking tune: What A But-But.

Party On The 4th of July is reminiscent of a kicky tune Harry Connick, Jr. might cook up.

Robin Work lets her smoky voice carry on Another Day

Robin Church does a sexy trumpet solo on South Of Eden

Getting the rhythm pumped up and the toes a-tappin’ on Don’t Let Go, Doug Hill does a rousing sax solo.

Movin’ On Down The Line is a knee slappin’, head poppin,’ rockin’ guitar ballad with Mike Bitz on electric bass and lead vocals by Big Tone Torres.

Coming back down to the ground, Betrayed tells a sad story of a little bag of gold winning over love.

Heaven Can’t also tells a tale of love unrequited, in a more lively verse.

A little Latin Rhythm breaks out in La Samba de Costerella with lead guitar of Ray Holiday.

Ain’t That Somethin’ is a spirited, 14 track instrument, vocal combination. Each song tells a story of life and love. A harmonious balance of pithy voices, string guitars, trumpets and saxophones backed by bass, gives this album a feel of a good time people having fun, enjoying what they do.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: D.C.& Co.
  • CD Title: Ain’t That Somethin’
  • Genre: Blues
  • Year Released: 2003
  • Record Label: Cold Wind
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments