You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz - CD Reviews>In Tokyo by Joao Gilberto

In Tokyo by Joao Gilberto

Perhaps known best for his 1960s, bossa nova collaborations with saxophone giant Stan Getz, Brazilian artist Joao Gilberto has again surfaced on America’s jazz scene.In Tokyo, a new live recording, documents the reclusive singer/songwriter/guitarist’s first-ever concerts in Japan.

At these concerts, Gilberto performed solo - the same format that can be heard on Gilberto’s 2000 release Joao Voz E Violao (Verve). While In Tokyo features some new arrangements and harmonies, the sound is purely Gilberto: the beauty of his recognizable voice and his subtle, yet passionate guitar playing.

The album kicks off with the lively Acontece Que Es Sou Baiano and includes nearly 70 minutes of music before winding down with the dreamy sounds of Aos Pes da Cruz. Gilberto included numerous tunes by the great Antonio Carlos Jobim, including the classics Corcovado and Wave, as well as Este Seu Olhar and Meditacao (co-written by Jobim and Newton Mendonca). Some of the other songs documented at these concerts are the pretty Louco and the haunting Rosa Morena (one of three songs written or co-written by Dorival Caymmi on this collection).

Gilberto held four sold-out concerts in Tokyo and Yokohama, Japan, in September 2003. Remarkably, this was the first time he had ever performed in that country. The shows were recorded from the sound boards on to digital audio tapes for reference only, but Gilberto was so pleased with both the quality of the sound and his performance that he decided to release one of these landmark concerts on CD. In Tokyo spotlights the Sept. 12, 2003, performance at the Tokyo International Forum Hall.

Audiences who remember the Gilberto-Getz-Jobim blend for such songs as So Danco Samba, Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars) . Vivo Sonhando and The Girl From Ipanema will certainly be pleased with this collection.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Joao Gilberto
  • CD Title: In Tokyo
  • Genre: Brazilian Jazz / Brazilian Pop Jazz
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: Verve
  • Tracks: Acontece Que Eu Sou Baiano, Meditação, Doralice, Corcovado, Este Seu Olhar, Isto Aqui o Que É?, Wave, Pra Que Discutir com Madame?, Ligia, Louco, Bolinha de Papel, Rosa Morena, Adeus América, Preconceito, Aos Pés da Cruz
  • Musicians: João Gilberto (vocals, guitar)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments