You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Black Eyes by Gerald Beckett

Black Eyes by Gerald Beckett

Speaking of a debut jazz flute CD collection, BLACK EYES featuring the gifted flute performer Gerald Beckett will delight jazz listening audiences with its solid contemporary jazz sound and innovative flute performances. Gerald Beckett is backed with a fine group that surrounds him with excellent solo and group work. BLACK EYES showcases the talents of Gerald Beckett.

There are 10 songs in the collection. Some of the songs are "Joshua," "Black Eyes," "Windows," "Flux," "Roy Allan," "A Dream Of You," among others.

Gerald Beckett is very, very good, and for a debut collection, BLACK EYES is superb. If you like jazz flute, please allow me to recommend BLACK EYES to you, and the magnificent sounds of Gerald Beckett on the flute.

The song, "Windows," is some of the finest contemporary jazz flute music around, and it shows how fine a performer on that instrument Gerald Beckett is! Special mention on the fantastic piano stylings of Kevin Fellezs, and it would be a listening treat to have a solo collection from this pianist one of these days! Every musician on this collection is topnotch.

Excellent collection. Flawless production values.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Gerald Beckett
  • CD Title: Black Eyes
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Record Label: Wolfetones Records
  • Musicians: Gerald Beckett, flute, leader. Will Jhun, tenor saxophone. Kevin Fellezs, piano. Dan Acker, drums. Mauro Pannitto, bass. Adam Goodhue, drums. Aaron Germain, bass. Lonnie Tuck, vocals.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments