You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Falling Stones by Marc Van Roon Trio with Dave Liebman

Falling Stones by Marc Van Roon Trio with Dave Liebman

This ten year old date from the trio of Dutch pianist Marc Van Roon and their special guest Dave Liebman is surprisingly contemporary sounding. The music is mostly restrained and accessible. The opening ballad "C +D" has a nice pensive line and is highlighted by Liebman's lyrical soprano playing. There are some moments on the disc when the band attempts some free playing; "Get Me Back to the Apple" recalls late sixties Ornette Coleman in its approach to ensemble improvisation, while "The Portrait of Dorian Grey" is a somewhat edgy exploration appropriately fluctuating between beautiful sounds and harrowing ones.

Falling Stones is a worthwhile reissue. The trans-Atlantic pairing of noted American reedman Dave Liebman with the Marc Van Roon Trio has held up very well. The CD's ten tunes are all well structured; even their most experimental moments follow an easily comprehensible logic. All but the hopelessly timid should find something to enjoy here.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Marc Van Roon Trio with Dave Liebman
  • CD Title: Falling Stones
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Reissue Original Release: 1995
  • Record Label: Apple on the Moon
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments