You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>My America by Monty Alexander

My America by Monty Alexander

It is refreshing to see an immigrant such as Monty Alexander paying his respects to the country that gave him boundless opportunity in his chosen field. I look at myself, and everyone living here as immigrants. After all, the Native Americans were here long before us. On his latest release, Alexander pays tribute to his new homeland on "My America." The CD is a personal diary of his personal feelings and the music that shaped his visions and hopes.

You will notice the names and the songs readily. In typical eclectic Alexander fashion he covers everything from Marvin Gaye’s "Sexual Healing" to Bobby Darin’s "Mack The Knife." The CD closes out most fittingly with the tradition and history of "Battle Hymn of the Republic (Glory Hallelujah)." The musical styles covered are as diverse as the song selection. Monty and his marvelous piano cover the range of jazz, blues, and pop, all steeped in his Jamaican tradition and heritage.

This man continually impresses with his fresh innovations of standard tunes, including plenty of his own original compositions. I have no qualms saying his is one of the very best piano players in jazz today.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Monty Alexander
  • CD Title: My America
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Record Label: Telarc
  • Musicians: Monty Alexander, piano & melodica. Glen Browne, bass & musical director. Dalton Browne, rhythm guitar. Derek DiCenzo, lead guitar. Leon Duncan, bass. Leroy Romans, keyboards. Bobby Thomas, Jr., hand drums & percussion. Guest vocalists: Freddy Cole, Kevin Mahogany. Guest guitarist: John Pizzarelli.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Morrice Blackwell

Owner and publisher of, Morrice Blackwell is a christian husband dad jazz fan website developing marketing manager basketball playing engineer that lives for photography.

Login to post comments