You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>One Night by Marhsa Heydt Marsha Heydt

One Night by Marhsa Heydt Marsha Heydt

A variety of styles of music makes the CD definitely worth listening to. This is very true with Marsha Heydt’s CD entitled One Night. The CD starts out with Heydt’s own composition Good Feeling. Which shows her groove of a Latin beat. Dueling on both flute and sax, Marsha demonstrates excellent tones on the song Green Dolphin St.The song One Night, track 4 is my favorite tune. It does have that Grover Washington sound that she describes in her linear notes. Very 70’s.Her solos on this are melodic yet tasteful. Nice groove on Joe Zawinul’s Mercy, Mercy, Mercy. The drummer and bass player play very together without having a lot of added features.

I enjoyed very much the pick of different meters and the types of music, going from Latin, to traditional, to a nice funky blues feel. She has a wonderful rich soulful tone. Her band and she seem to compliment each other very well. She is in a league of her own. Heydt’s bio was quite impressive. Playing with artists such as Randy Brecker and even in a guest appearance with Paul Schaefer's band on the David Letterman show.

This whole CD is very laid back. This is a perfect CD for Sunday, by the pool or even listening in your favorite easy chair. You could say its smooth jazz at its finest. Again you will be delighted with the selection her music. It is mixed very well, with a slow tune then a fast then another slow. Her ballads have wonderful soothing strings. Heydt plays deep from her heart. She even plays a great rendition of Georgia on my Mind. The instrumental original tune that is called I Want to Know. Has again great melody, good passing chords with great solos. I give this 3 out of 5 on my Jazz-o-meter.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Marhsa Heydt Marsha Heydt
  • CD Title: One Night
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Reissue Original Release: 2007
  • Record Label: Blue Toucan Music
  • Musicians: Marsha Heydt (saxes and flute)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments