You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Palermo by Eddie Gomez

Palermo by Eddie Gomez

To listen to the doublebass sound of one of the most historical jazz-players in the world is always moving: after playing for several years in Bill Evans' trio, and also being in the Charles Mingus' last band when the bass master’s illness made himself to rely just even on a bassplayer too, Eddie Gomez is a walking piece of the jazz history indeed. His intense double bass ever echoes the perfection reached in his own previous experience, which here comes to flow into the present recording, titled Palermo: an homage to the beautiful Italian city where the releasing label, Jazz Eyes, resides. The fluent music, its intensity and his romantic touch color this album with a particular atmosphere, thanks to the presence of both the precise pianist Stefan Karlsson, who shares with Gomez a long time artistic companionship, and the drummer Nasheet Waits, who refines the rhythmic textures of this trio. With this lineup, the bassplayer releases creative lines with his instrument: this happens on "Missing You", a ballad written by himself, where he provides for a brilliant solo with his bow. But he also lets his bandmates express their own inspired improvisations, where a close interplay among the three comes out. A precious gift is the reprise of Evans' "We Will Meet Again", dedicated by the famous piano player to his dead brother, and featured on the posthumous "You Must Believe in Spring": it is Gomez's very touching tribute to that great jazz master. This is only a sample of what it's possible to find on this cd, where the passionate bassist of jazz greats likes of Chick Corea, Michael Brecker, and great himself, shows once more that his masterful touch is as elegant and vivid as ever, and it will leave surprised the lovers of old masterliness combined with modern stream hints.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Eddie Gomez
  • CD Title: Palermo
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Record Label: Jazz Eyes
  • Tracks: Palermo, Illusion, Missing you, On Green Dolphin Street, Smilin’ Eyes, We Will Meet Again, If I Should Loose You, My Foolish Heart
  • Musicians: Eddie Gomez (double bass), Stefan Karlsson (piano), Nasheet Waits (drums)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Andrew Rigmore

Latest from Andrew Rigmore

Login to post comments