You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Point of No Return by Michel Reis

Point of No Return by Michel Reis

Point of No Return is truly an exceptional journey in jazz listening with its original compositions by pianist Michel Reis. Listening to Michel Reis is akin to listening to a most perfect combination of jazz stylings by such pianists as Danilo Perez, Andre Previn, and Bill Evans, topped by the special creative touch of Michel Reis. Michel Reis has an unique jazz piano sound, and his place in the realm of jazz pianists is assured, as heard in this fine collection. This CD collection will discover its own audience! It is unique and one of a kind.

The performers on this collection represent some of the finest jazz performers in the world of jazz.Tal Gamlieli is a superb bassist and his solo work is outstanding. Vivek Patel shares his unique genius for solo work with a keen sense of pleasure with his fugelhorm. Patel and Reis certainly present a shared vision of music that is solidified by Gamlieli, Cruz, and Kruziki. Adam Cruz sets a fine, intricate pace with the drums and Aaron Kruziki continually surprises with his imaginative soprano saxophone techniques. These performers are in top notch form, and each one turns in flawless performances.

What I found most intriguing about this collection of jazz songs is that each stands on its own as well as correlates in a connecting manner with the collection as a whole. The nine songs include "The Power of Beauty," "Folk Song," "Sailing Away At Night," "It's Only Been A Dream," "Point of No Return," "Riverside Drive." "Street of Memories," "Leaning In Towards Tomorrow," and the remarkable "The Sad Clown."

For something creative and original, give Michel Reis' Point of No Return a try. You will be glad you did and you will discover first hand a remarkable talent at the piano. Highy reccomended.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Michel Reis
  • CD Title: Point of No Return
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2011
  • Record Label: Armored Records
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments