You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Souled Out by Marc Vee & Johnny Magsax

Souled Out by Marc Vee & Johnny Magsax

These guys really have something here!

Hitting the ground running, Marc Vee and Johnny Magsax have created a clean, crisp collaboration of ten original tunes on their first CD, Souled Out, providing plenty of variety to the mix.

A few tunes are sexy, sultry, as Magsax makes his horn cry mellow tunes backed by Vee's pronounced guitar work. A little flexing on the keyboard provides an added spirit to these tunes. Magsax brings sounds of Kenny G to the album with his exciting sax.

Get Up comes in with a torrid play on guitar, with scorching sax keeping the pace upbeat.

Each a successful artist in his own field, this dynamic duo found instant electricity when working together--a perfect balance with each complementing the other's work throughout the album.

Darrell Nutt keeps a perfect beat on drums/percussion, making the entire album very listenable, enjoyable.

The title track, Souled Out is a slice of funk delivered just the way funk ought to be served hot and spirited..Ride W/Me is smooth, deliberate, each note eloquent.

Vee and Magsax decided this would be a 50/50 contribution from the inception. It seems to be a formula bound for success.

Influenced by Steely Dan, Santana, Miles Davis, Stevie Wonder, Kenny G., BB King and Muddy Waters, Vee and Magsax share a broad range of musical skills, mirroring their idols.

Mastering this album is Roger Nichols, who also mastered on Steely Dan albums.

Bass player for this album, David Johnson, tours on occasion with the Neville Brothers' Quartet and was on the Jay Leno show last year.

Drummer, Darrell McNutt is a Nashville touring drummer--pocket player.

Vee has two previous albums: Speaking In Sounds and Magic Moments.He has opened for top of the line jazz artists: Dave Brubeck, Boney James, Richard Elliott, Warren Hill, Craig Chaquico, Peter White and Maynard Ferguson.

Magsax is also successful in his own career in South Florida.

The pair will be opening for Chris Botti and Boney James at the yearly Smooth Jazz Concert in Ft. Myers, Florida--Jazz On The Green, October 23, 2004.

An impressive group of musicians. An impressive album. These guys are headed straight to success.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Marc Vee & Johnny Magsax
  • CD Title: Souled Out
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: VMP
  • Tracks: Polly, A Day Off, Collaboration, Souled Out, Get Up, Miles To Go, Ride W/Me, Midnight Rendezvous, Twisted, Outta Site.
  • Musicians: Marc Vee: Guitars, Johnny Magsax: Saxophones, Brad Brown: Keys, Mike Blaty: Strings/wood chimes, David Johnson: Bass, Darrell Nutt: Drums/percussion, Hanan Schwartz: percussion.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments