You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Synopsis by Antonio Tosques Quartet

Synopsis by Antonio Tosques Quartet

Antonio Tosques is one of Italy's finest contemporary jazz composers and jazz guitarists. His music, his style of playing, and his attention to jazz details make him foremost in the lineup of major world jazz artists.

This CD collection gives the listening audience an opportunity to savor the Antonio Tosques Quartet. This quartet has a fresh, innovative sound which is contemporary yet filled with touches of international jazz influences. Highly creative in performances, each musician shines either as solo performer or as group backup. Each musician is perfect in his role for this imaginative quartet. The surreal artwork of the CD holder adds to the enchantment of the collection, plus there are additional photographs inside the folder of the musicians performing.

There are eight original songs in the collection. "Three Witches" is composed by Robert Bonisolo. The other seven songs are composed by Antonio Tosques. Original, intimate, and complex are three words to sum up the eight songs in the this exceptional CD collection. Among the songs are "The Promise," "Soul City," the highly imaginative "Synopsis," "My Heart," "Flat Land," "Substation," "Three Witches," and the alternate take to "My Heart." "Flat Land" will long hold the listener's attention with its complex jazz motifs and performances by the musicians. "My Heart" is a fine song with many fine attributes.

There is an email which accompanies this jazz quartet from Italy: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. For those interested in an exceptional jazz quartet, this is a great CD to purchase for yourself, and for a friend. If you have not heard the electric guitar stylings of Antonio Tosques, this is a wonderful way to become acquainted with a performer who gives repeated memorable performances that will appeal to all jazz listeners. Antonio Tosques Quartet is an exceptionally good international quartet, one you will enjoy listening to often.

Highly recommended. Highly enjoyable. Highly original.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Antonio Tosques Quartet
  • CD Title: Synopsis
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Record Label: Dodicilune Dischi
  • Musicians: Antonio Tosques (leader, composer, electric guitar), Robert Bonisolo (tenor saxophone), Pierluigi Balducci (electric bass, bass on tracks 1 and 7), Mimmo Campanale (drums)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments