You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>The Ultimate Adventure by Chick Corea

The Ultimate Adventure by Chick Corea

Chick Corea has always been one of the most innovative of jazz performers and jazz pianists. This collection of music strikes out in new directions, capturing highly passionate flamenco melodies, North African themes, Middle Eastern themes, and improvisations that are spellbinding in their intimate complexity.

Based on the book of the same name by science fiction author L. Ron Hubbard, these original compositions by Chick Corea soar with beauty, fantasy, and imagination. This is a true jazz musical journey. Corea and his fellow musicians are in top form with these songs.

Among the selections are "Three Ghouls," which is a three-part suite. The keynote performance is Chick Corea's eclectic piano stylings. "City of Brass" will enchant jazz listeners with its Middle Eastern flavor. "Queen Tedmur" and "King & Queen" are intricate pieces full of surprises, and fresh jazz modes. A potent, driven "Moseb The Executioner" is a stunning work of verve and vibrant feelings. "North Africa" and "God's & Devils" are also imaginative works.

A highly evocative ballad, "Arabian Nights" presents some fine solo and group work, and is an exciting work. It is in two parts. Like all the pieces on the CD, it, too, is full of surprises!

This is the type of work that only Chick Corea could create and perform with such perfection, intelligence, and joy. It is entertaining and enjoyable.

Highly recommended.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Chick Corea
  • CD Title: The Ultimate Adventure
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: Stretch Records
  • Tracks: Three Ghouls (Parts 1 -3), City of Brass, Queen Tedmur, El Stephen (Part 1 - 2), King & Queen, Moseb the Executioner (Part 1 - 3), North Africa, Flight From Karoof, Planes of Existence, Arabian Nights, Gods & Devils, Planes of Existence
  • Musicians: Chick Corea (leader and composer, piano, Rhodes, synthesizers, palmas, percussion), Steve Gadd (drums, palmas) Vinnie Colaituta (drums), Tom Brechtlein (drums), Airto Moreira (percussion, voice), Ruben Dantas (percussion, palmas), Hossam Ramzy (percussion), Hubert Laws (flute), Orge Pardo (C flute, soprano saxophone, alto flute, palmas),Tim Garland (tenor saxophone, bass clarinet), Frank Gambale (guitar), Carles Benavent (bass, palmas)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments