You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Velvet by Gerald Veasley

Velvet by Gerald Veasley

Bassist Gerald Veasley continues to excite the jazz listening audience with his innovative bass performances, placing him in the front row of jazz bass players. His touch is sure and fine, and he is a remarkable bassist.

The 14 songs on this collection will delight, and entertain. Among the intimate songs and superb performances of those songs are found such titles "Coup Deville," "Sarah's Song," "Velvet," Summer Kiss," "Forever," "Still Movin'On," "Home," and "Sunday Clothes Reprise."

I listened to this one several times, and its sweet jazz sounds grow on you in a memorable way, each song a splendid listen to the talents of Gerald Veasley. The vocals are excellent.

Highly recommended. VELVET is a bass jazz lover's delight.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Gerald Veasley
  • CD Title: Velvet
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2003
  • Record Label: Heads Up
  • Musicians: Gerald Veasley, bass. Various guests artists including Hammond organists Benji Porecki and Michael Aharon, Chris Farr on saxophone, among others.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments