You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>Waltz for Debby by Don Friedman Trio

Waltz for Debby by Don Friedman Trio

35 W. 4th St. is a rousing original composition by Don Friedman, giving the audience a sample of the Trio's exquisite skills.

Cole Porter’s I Concentrate on You shows George Mraz’ skill with a solo on bass, followed with a fanciful flight on keyboard by Don Friedman. Lewis Nash rounds out the trio with an intrepid solo on drums, bringing the trio into complete unison.

Though the name sounds oh, so tame, Waltz for Debby, written by Bill Evans in 1956, is anything but subdued. Friedman highlights his tremendous reach on the keyboard.
This tune has now become a classic.

Written by Chick Corea as a tribute to Bud Powell, the track named Bud Powell is lively, a bit boppish, up-tempo, keeping it ever interesting. Nash does another hot piece with his famous drums, making the listener take notice.

Another classic, You Must Believe in Spring was written by Michel Legrand for the 1966 movie, The Young Girls of Rochefort.
A soft beginning by Friedman’s keyboard and gentle accompaniment by Mraz and Nash keep this tune gentle and easy to follow.

Blues In a Hurry, written by Friedman, picks up the tempo to provide plenty of variety for this album.

A familiar classic, The Shadow of Your Smile is done with a few twists and turns to keep the listener attune and the album fresh.

Another Friedman composition, Flamands brings to light Friedman’s interpretation of a Caribbean mood. Mraz and Nash do a duet to open this tune, creating a unique, memorable rhythm. Once the listener’s interest is captured, Friedman begins his amazing smooth keyboard track, keeping this tune in sync and delightful throughout.

From A to Z is quick tempo written by Friedman as a tribute to the late Attila Zoller, guitarist and former bandmate.

A solo piano performance by Friedman brings this album to a close with Old Folks.
Written in the 30s by Mildred Bailey, Friedman’s exceptional keyboarding keeps this track distinctly his.Each song on this album is interesting, easy listening and highly engaging. The Don Friedman Trio is composed of exceptional talents working together in symbionic perfection.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Don Friedman Trio
  • CD Title: Waltz for Debby
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2003
  • Record Label: Village Records, Inc.
  • Tracks: 35 W 4Th St., I Concentrate on You, Waltz for Debby, Bud Powell, You Must Believe in Spring, Blues in a Hurry, The Shadow of Your Smile, Flamands, From A to Z, Old Folks.
  • Musicians: Don Friedman: keyboard, George Mraz:bass, Lewis Nash:drums.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments