You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Contemporary Jazz - CD Reviews>What Once Was by Trio Reenactment

What Once Was by Trio Reenactment

What Once Was is an intricate, eclectic jazz CD that explods with much originality and imagination! The solo work and the group work shine, and the jazz performances are topnotch.

There are nine songs in this CD collection, and each one is an interesting jazz composition. The songs include "Piano Mang," "Eternal," "Get Ready," "Trio R," "What Once Was," "When You Speak, Do You Sleep?," "Here To There," "Open Your Eyes," and "Goodbye Larry."

What Once Was is the second release from this jazz ensemble, and mixed in with the contemporary jazz sounds are elements of straight-ahead jazz. This Detroit-area trio is highly imaginative with its lively jazz performances, and their sound is unmistakenly unique and full of verve.

With John Barron on bass, Sven Anderson on keyboards, and Rob Emanuel on drums, you have three jazz musicians complimenting each other in a solid blend of in sync sound and in sync harmony. This group swings, and swings very well indeed, each song a testament to their skills as well-developed jazz artists in the contemporary jazz medium.

Trio Reenactment is a pleasure to listen to, and its sounds recall the great jazz trios of the past. If you are looking for a trio that is out of the ordinary and full of imaginative performances, this is the one for you. Given the trio a listen and see what you think!

Highly recommended jazz trio. Top of the line performances!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Trio Reenactment
  • CD Title: What Once Was
  • Genre: Contemporary Jazz / Modern
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Record Label: Olicon Music
  • Musicians: John Barron (bass), Sven Anderson (piano), and Rob Emanuel (drums).
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments