You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Folk Jazz - CD Reviews>Telephone Game by Kate Schutt

Telephone Game by Kate Schutt

Telephone Game by singer, songwriter and guitarist Kate Schutt is a quality recording and a good listening experience. The music crosses over into many different styles, with Schutt’s compositions always staying close to her jazz roots. Tracks from the recording may be heard on jazz radio, smooth jazz and pop radio stations. She has assembled a talented cast of operators, some with solid jazz credentials. Orrin Evans, piano and Terri Lyne Carrington, drums, along with either bassist Marc Rogers or Damian Erskine, a dynamic rhythm section - as well as guest appearances from harmonica master Grégoire Maret and accordion specialist Denis Keldie all lend in adding tonal diversity that creates moods of splendor.

Kate Schutt has a sensuous, bluesy voice. She utilizes soulful phrasing, at times sounding somewhat similar to Norah Jones. She sings original material about love, romance, pain, suffering, youth and longing. Some of her songs have dark overtones as in "If Spring Comes Now". Some come with ominous undercurrents, perhaps tales of forbidden love, as in "Take Me With You".

Many of the tunes are ballads, songs for a talented vocalist and built around wordsmiths poetic musings as penned by Koko Bonaparte and Kate Schutt. The suffering of "The Actress", or the soulful "Take Everything" reminiscent of Bobbie Gentry singing "Ode To Billy Joe". And for something completely different, flat out striking you up side the head with "Blackout", a slash and burn, rock guitar riff carries the verses with an overlay of sardonic, sassiness in the lyrics and there delivery.

Telephone Game by Kate Schutt is a showcase for a talented singer and songwriter. She has produced a delightful record with wonderful musical accompaniment, great sounding songs and an uplifting contemporary feel.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Kate Schutt
  • CD Title: Telephone Game
  • Genre: Folk Jazz
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Record Label: Artist Share
  • Tracks: Take Everything, Blackout, Open Window, Take Me With You, Who Is Young Who Is Naïve?, If Spring Comes Now, Fake ID, You Can Have The Sky, Our Legs Are Burning, We All Fall Down, The Actress
  • Musicians: Kate Schutt (electric guitar, vocals), Terri Lyne Carrington (drums), Orrin Evans (piano) Duane Andrews (acoustic guitar), Marc Rogers (bass), Chris Brown (B3, clavinet, Wurlitzer), Damian Erskine (bass on tracks 3, 5), Denis Keldie (accordions on track 5), Andrea Zonn (viola on track 6), John Ellis (saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet), Alan Ferber (trombones), Shane Endsley (trumpet, flugelhorn), Grégoire Maret (harmonica),Paris Woods, Candis Joseph, Sheldon KX Reid (background vocals), Jeff Louie (violin),Nat Barrett (cello)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments