You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Boink by Matt Rippetoe

Boink by Matt Rippetoe

From listening to the title track of this 2007 debut Matt Rippetoe release you get the distinct impression Rippetoe doesn’t take himself too seriously. Boink is at times a humorous romp through experimental musical ideas. Rapidly changing thoughts, from smooth melodious tunes to circus like romps of electronic impulses. A merry go round of musical compositions touching on bebop through to contemporary and beyond. The musicianship is of a high quality, Rippetoe plays saxophone with a bold tone, smooth and soothing. Musicians along for the ride are; co-writer of some of the improvisational tunes, John Lee playing guitar. Mark Foster and Larry Ferguson hold down the rhythm end on bass and drums respectively.

The liner notes indicate Rippetoe and Lee have created improvisations on four tracks. Through these improvisations, the listener is given a chance to witness the growth of "Dracula". Beginning with "Baby Dracula" a short intro to the electronic world of Rippetoe as he is credited with providing effects and playing a Cassio CT-640. The evolution continues with "Teen Dracula" at under two minutes, a trippy guitar adventure with wah-wah and echo, a pretty melody. Followed shortly thereafter by "Adult Dracula" the electronica continues, a little more experimental with sounds resembling an underwater orchestra. Of course no story of Dracula could be complete without venturing into "Old Dracula" territory. Guitar, saxophone and plenty of effects make for an interesting and playful romp through a tango like melody combining the rhythms of Transylvania with that of some western cow town.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Matt Rippetoe
  • CD Title: Boink
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Record Label: Independent
  • Tracks: Boink, Ladybugs,Green Apples, Baby Dracula, Don’t Think Too Much, Pros and Cons, Teen Dracula, Revisiting, Adult Dracula, Flash Flood, Old Dracula, Boink (reprise)
  • Musicians: Matt Rippetoe (saxophone), John Lee (guitar), Mark Foster (electric bass), Larry Ferguson (drums, percussion), Rob Byers (udu)
  • Rating: Two Stars
Login to post comments