You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Celestial Mechanix: The Blue Series Mastermix by DJ Spooky

Celestial Mechanix: The Blue Series Mastermix by DJ Spooky

The Blue Series on Thirsty Ear Records continues with a double CD called CELESTIAL MECHANIX. The master mixer is DJ Spooky, aka The Subliminal Kid, artist Paul Miller.

Emulating the Dadaist, Marcel Duchamp, whose institution of the "ready made" as art gave permission in the cultural sense for this recording, DJ Spooky culls from seemingly all of the recordings in the Blue Series elements that will make sense for his musical statement. Given also that mixing is a not-so-new trend in music making with the arrival of turntablism and techno and hip hop and the ever-present "DJ" as governor for listening and dancing pleasure, DJ Spooky has integrated his choices into the array of sounds and clips which will shape a total picture. The "music" is composed.

The first recording exposes 11 tracks of remixes. These seem to constitute the foundation for the second recording which is the finished work. My take on this is that it is unnecessary to include this recording in the package. For it is as if the paint brushes and tubes of paint were being exhibited with a completed painting. The mystery is somehow dissolved. And the first recording, no matter how interesting it is, separates and draws dividing lines that can be imposed on the second CD and, therefore, distract from its impact.

For the impact of the second CD of 35 tracks, blended seamlessly into an 80 minute encapsulation of true dedication, speaks volumes of poetry, political belief, and becomes an orchestral work, for, as Matthew Shipp would say, "the 21st century". Perhaps this MasterMix can be perceived as a pivotal work in the Blue Series, whereby its 21st century character is jettisoned into the audible atmosphere.

The textures are impeccably designed. An evenness of selection from vocal to ambient, to electronic, to acoustic pervades the recording. It is what one might call a quintessential mixed sound media work. The boundless relentless sound impressions leave you with an inescapable smack of power. The rhythm, the heart beat, the drive behind the message never goes away. You know what DJ Spooky is saying. The exploration is thorough, but incites continuation of it, by you. Take the message out and deliver it where it is necessary. The message is global and in spiritual space. The message is concerned with unity as well as protest as well as sorrow as well as surviving as well as beauty as well as yearning for peace.

In this world, in this world, how will we find peace. What will be the medium? Is the medium the message? The medium establishes the strength of the message. The subject of the message is the truth. The truth within our hearts and minds, made clear, is the only means to peace.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: DJ Spooky
  • CD Title: Celestial Mechanix: The Blue Series Mastermix
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: Thirsty Ear
  • Musicians: DJ Spooky (electronics & mixing)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments