You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Guitar Solos by Fred Frith

Guitar Solos by Fred Frith

This is the reissue of guitarist Fred Frith’s classic 1974 solo outing. And for those who might not be in the loop, the artist has been re-releasing a good portion of his back catalogue via his recently established "Fred Records," label. Here, the master performs by his lonesome on acoustic and electric guitars sans any overdubs. When viewed as a whole, this outing sounds as fresh and groundbreaking as it did twenty-nine years ago. His early 70s work with the avant, prog-rock band "Henry Cow," amid his subsequent solo endeavors too numerous in scope to cite here has amounted to a multifaceted and hugely inventive career.

Throughout these eight works, you’ll hear Frith explore hallowed sounds and grinding lines to complement sequences of oscillating flows and rhythmically oriented strumming maneuvers. Frith detunes his guitars on occasion for movements consisting of trance-like harmonic intervals and off kilter folk-based motifs. He also institutes chillingly enigmatic choruses as he mounts a reverse overdrive attack on "No Birds," where he performs on two guitars simultaneously. The guitarist ends this piece with a daintily organized coda, to cap off a truly mesmerizing affair. Listen up and learn as Frith’s masterpiece should be deemed essential listening for those who are willing to explore what they don’t teach in textbooks and classrooms.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Fred Frith
  • CD Title: Guitar Solos
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Reissue Original Release: 1974
  • Record Label: Fred Records
  • Tracks: Hello Music, Glass c/w steel, Ghosts, Out of their Heads (on locoweed), Not Forgotten, Hollow Music, Heat c/w moment, No Birds
  • Musicians: Fred Frith (acoustic & electric guitars)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments