You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Imagination by Yoon Sun Choi and Jacob Sacks

Imagination by Yoon Sun Choi and Jacob Sacks

Vocalist Yoon Sun Choi and pianist Jacob Sacks profess a kind of swash exuberance and swing on Imagination. More importantly though, the duo shines with Joe Raposo compositions herewith, and the result is a beautiful and convincing achievement. The album is shaped with Choi’s eccentrically free overtones and pianist Sacks provides robust accompaniment.

Yoon Sun Choi definitely possesses a unique style. She spreads uttered choruses while throwing a criminal scat and soulful-lush lyricism into the whole oeuvre. Through swanky swing teasers, and wizardry of improv and avant-garde tones, her pure diction plays a prominent role. The album covers many soundscapes and soul-motifs, and it’s totally orientated toward originality. On the tracks titled "Song Of Five" and "Bein’ Green", Choi’s satiny and jazzy phrases convey fury spaces which coincide with Sacks’ fluid and irrefutably hot-blooded utterances. With free jazz patterns as well as pep ballads and other paths, this release does knack above the norm.

The duo conveys an alike-orchestrated mingle-mangle of graceful and organized pieces, busting into creative interplay and improvisational attacks. With the piece titled "Imagination", Choi stridently plucks her voice and strikes far-out cadenced rhythms in concert with Sacks’ notes. The artists sometimes dwell with swing urgency during pieces such as "Somebody Come and Play". Over all, Yoon Sun Choi and Jacon Sacks boldly snap choruses with amazing themes and contractive passages. Even more, the duo’s free-form penchant and avant-gardism like technique overtimes appears to be rooted upon a complicated but nevertheless discernible layout. This release is a captivating enterprise. Gorgeous...

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Yoon Sun Choi and Jacob Sacks
  • CD Title: Imagination
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Record Label: Yeah-Yeah Records
  • Tracks: Somebody Come and Play, Little Things, Song of Five, Bein’ Green, La La La, Happiness Hotel, Imagination, What makes Music?, Blue, J-Jump, Not Much Of A Dog, Sing
  • Musicians: Yoon Sun Choi (vocals), Jacob Sacks (piano)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments