You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Licalecca by Licaones

Licalecca by Licaones

Recorded, produced and distributed in Italy, Licalecca clusters together saxophonist Francesco Bearzatti, trombonist Mauro Ottolini, organist Oscar Marchioni and drummer Paolo Mappa who bestow enlightened denotations, subsidized by a canny lively fashion.

Au fond, Licalecca accomplishes this tender-heartedness by way of cheerful enacted pieces such as "Guaiva", "Day Light" , "Techno Lunge", "Iberia", "Grown", "Amor is Mambo", "Mattana", "Fujico", "Woordheeo Dance" with a bubbly, chamber-esque band format. Furthermore many of these compositions are underscored by luxuriously smooth and boppy passages.

Rigorous euphonic shapes and swing brighten this album, testifying a musical wisdom. The band shows a true stylistic draft and all the way through this release one recognizes forthwith the brilliance of this quartet.

Sophisticated grooves nourished with soul, a myriad of beats decorated with multiple musical ornaments and simple topics without being oversimplified are showcased. The band’s harmonies are built on artful tensions equipped with erudite textures, rhythmically and delicately syncopated.

In this musical journey the listener will be amazed by Francesco Bearzatti’s breezy sax which offers a bit of counterpoint to trombonist Mario Ottolini jazzy frameworks. Organist Oscar Marchioni as well as drummer Paolo Mappa deploy many colours, and not to mention zap full of swing. In conclusion, the band projects a hybrid Italian contemporary jazz outlook via its melodious and connected succession of smooth motifs.

Check it out!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Licaones
  • CD Title: Licalecca
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Musica Mondo
  • Tracks: Guaiva, Day Light , Techno Lunge, Iberia, Grown, Amor is Mambo, Mattana, Fujico, Woordheeo Da
  • Musicians: Francesco Bearzatti (sax), Mauro Ottolini (trombone), Oscar Marchioni (Hammond) , Paolo Mappa (drums)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments