You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Night Kitchen – An Hour of Ruined Piano by Ross Bolleter

Night Kitchen – An Hour of Ruined Piano by Ross Bolleter

The title of Ross Bolleter’s 2010 release designates that these solo performances on ruined pianos were performed simultaneously in his kitchen, largely during the evening or dawn. And while many of today's artists fiddle with the latest digital gadgets, Bolleter has the beat on this methodology, or for that matter, does anyone else? Probably not, yet the artist’s pursuit of finding one man’s trash and using it as a foundation for art, is a virtuous undertaking to say the least. However, Bolleter’s maneuvers offer the willing listener a rather organic, mind-blowing experience. He renders nimble storylines by tapping the keys and plucking strings amid other mechanics, offset by a resonating sonic experience throughout these tracks, recorded from 2002 thru 2009.

Bolleter periodically injects a slanted melody line to coincide with an abundance of subliminally designed progressions. At times, his mode of execution can make you feel sorry for these old and neglected implements. It’s sort of like the old adage about hitting a man when he’s down. Nonetheless, the pianist generates a bizarrely entertaining framework on these fourteen works. Moreover, Bolleter infuses disparate nooks and crannies and sucks out the remaining life that these abused beasts have to offer. His musicality spans dreary and nightmarish motifs, abetted by liquefying slurs and odd noises minus any overdubs or electronics. Bolleter executes a dark and foreboding panorama that is weirdly entertaining. Although, it’s not a gimmicky event, since he creates an artistic methodology and becomes "one" with five neglected artifacts that are years beyond any hint of practical usefulness.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Ross Bolleter
  • CD Title: Night Kitchen – An Hour of Ruined Piano
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2010
  • Record Label: Emanem
  • Musicians: Ross Bolleter (pianos)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments