You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Pequenas Flores do Inferno by Achille Succi & Salvatore Maiore

Pequenas Flores do Inferno by Achille Succi & Salvatore Maiore

Pequenas Flores do Inferno is the bloom of two great improvisers of the Italian music scene. Achille Succi is on bass clarinet and alto saxophone while Salvatore Maiore is on double bass. The album conveys vision, wisdom, taste and lulu.

Although cushy and breezy, the music is boldly orchestrated as in "Otokogokoro", " Night Lines", Virus", " KY" and "Settembrini", creating an atmosphere of peace in "Soulbalde" and serenity in "Rosa" or "Giubek".

Succi and Maiore travel beyond any experimental work here; the phrases being sharp and intense. Achille Succi has a strong and firm background in the jazz and other improv scenes, which prompt him to value and establish sophisticated vogues of languages. Salvatore Maiore is at ease in all exploratory elements. Both artists are at home in free languages and improvisation which is an apex for euphonic adventures.

Many of the compositions are copious, luxurious sound explorations and often poignant and remarkable as in "Panterana". "Astroglide" is a swinging piece that sparks along and the space and mastery of the acoustics is of great effect. Fluent and mysterious, every piece has a hypnotic flow. The instrumentation is simple and the effects very complex. In tribute « Pixinguinha » bass and reeds affix soaring phrases which in return embellish their dialogue.

Achilles Succi and Salvatore Maiore knit together with perfection in every note, showcasing a bold rhythmic interplay, changing directions and interlocking thoughts while achieving densely introspective soul-filled flips. Pequenas Flores do Inferno is a cooperative and brilliant shell game.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Achille Succi & Salvatore Maiore
  • CD Title: Pequenas Flores do Inferno
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: El Gallo Rojo Records
  • Tracks: Otokogokoro, Soulblade, Panterana, Night Lines, Hypnopotamo, Astroglide, Virus, KY, Rosa, Fedifragola, Giubek, Settembrini
  • Musicians: Achille Succi (bass clarinet, alto saxophone), Salvatore Maiore double bass)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments