You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Shadowglow by Raoul Björkenheim / Lukas Ligeti

Shadowglow by Raoul Björkenheim / Lukas Ligeti

I’ve already extolled the musical resumes & virtues of these performers on the pages of this web-magazine, so I won’t take up valuable space/time regurgitating it. Suffice it to say that both gents are extremely BOSS at what they do and are more-than-capable in doing it in a variety of contexts. Here, Ligeti and Björkenheim go the free-improvisation route and it’s a far cry from the more-silence-than-music aural wallpaper and wank-fests proliferating among such projects in "creative" music circles. What separates L&B’s platter from the pack: a feel for melody (even at its most abstract - and it’s not all that abstract, either); not acting as if the concept of engaging, direct "rhythm" is anathema; and above all, editing. (Just because one can play it and commit it to plastic & aluminum doesn’t mean one necessarily should.) Shadowglow consists of 12 concise chunks of bite-size improvisational energy, touching upon aspects of Javanese gamelan, surf-rock cadences, art/prog-rock its most pugnacious (think King Crimson and the little-known avant-fusion classic album by Quiet Sun, Mainstream) and keening blues slide guitar. This is "free" music that can rock. There are oblique moments, but they make those work for them - no self-indulgence or water-treading here. L&B are attuned to each other & inspired throughout, playing acutely together instead of merely "at the same time."

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Raoul Björkenheim / Lukas Ligeti
  • CD Title: Shadowglow
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: TUM
  • Musicians: L.L.: drums; R.B.: guitars.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments