You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Free Jazz / Avante Garde - CD Reviews>Theres No Going Back Now by Mujician

Theres No Going Back Now by Mujician

This CD contains on piece at just over forty five minutes which all four musicians show that there is, no going back.

This could a great example of how free jazz is played. Mujician consisting of Keith Tippett in piano, Paul Rogers on bass, Tony Levin on drums and Paul Dunmall on alto and soprano Saxes have put together one great album.

There is a lot of spontaneity here. Kevin Tippett really just lays low but also brings himself out when needed. Levin plays steady all throughout, he does jump beat in some phrases but appears that he never wants to be ahead of everyone else and the way he is no existent in certain sections is a stroke of genius.

Normally with most pieces like this, listeners may start to loose interesting within the first 15 to 20 minutes, but not here. All four have a way of keeping you interested without it becoming too noisy and just having one person solo for seven minutes. Paul Dunmall uses both alto and soprano beautifully. You can hear he switch between the two throughout without it being over distracting.

Mujician have been around since 1988 and have had a fair amount of press and adulation given to them - which they all deserve. With this album, There’s No Going Back Now, the press should be doubled. From Dunmall to the solid bass playing of Paul Rogers, the album title fits this perfectly. There is no going back now, but how do they top this great album, how do you they move ahead?

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Mujician
  • CD Title: Theres No Going Back Now
  • Genre: Free Jazz / Avante Garde
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: Cuneiform Records
  • Tracks: Theres No Going Back Now.'
  • Musicians: Keith Tippett (piano), Paul Rogers (7 string bass), Tony Levin (drums), Paul Dunmall (saxes)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments