You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Fusion - CD Reviews>Bloom by Jeff Coffin Mu'tet

Bloom by Jeff Coffin Mu'tet

A lot of different flowers bloom in Jeff Coffin's garden...and not a weed among them. This CD is a collection of different styles and features a lot of different personnel from track to track. Jeff Coffin had to coin the word "Mu'tet" (which is a mutation of the word "mutation") to describe the group in total.

The first two tracks are traditional New Orleans. "Move Your Rug" marches through the streets and "Better Do Your Thing" evokes the image of several bands meeting in the French Quarter where the music comes out of the street beneath your feet. "The Evil Boweevil" is a bluesy affair with Coffin using a harmonizer with his tenor sax. Coffin plays around with interesting time signatures on "The Mad Hatter Rides Again" which is a funky James Brown kind of offering. "Circle of Wills" is a circular melody with no solos and a small group sound consisting of sax, guitar, acoustic bass and drums. "Hatim" also has a complicated time signature and features double soprano saxes and Bela Fleck on banjo.

The title track, "Bloom" is in 5/4 and has the W.O. Smith Community Music School Choir singing the very pretty melody. Also featured on this is good piano solo by Tyler Wood and an intriguing banjo solo by Bela Fleck. "Old Jack Craw" features Pat Bergeson on slide guitar and has a gospel feel. "As Light Through Leaves" finds Coffin on double duty doing vocals and playing flute. It also features a mandolin solo which adds a different sound to the ensemble. The last track "Wobble" has the melody in one time signature and the rhythm section in another. There are two bass players on this one.

As you can tell, this CD has something for everyone. It is all good music no matter what the style. And the use of so many different personnel on different instruments creates many interesting colors just as in a beautiful, blooming garden.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Jeff Coffin Mu'tet
  • CD Title: Bloom
  • Genre: Fusion
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Compass Records
  • Tracks: Move Your Rug...processional, Better Do Your Thing, The Evil Boweevil, My Dog Chunks, The Mad Hatter Rids Again, Circle of Wills, Hatim, Bloom, Old Jack Craw, As Light Through Leaves, Weird Beard and Wobble.
  • Musicians: Jeff Coffin (saxes, flute), Victor Wooten (electric bass), Jeff Sipe (drums), Pat Bergeson (guitar), Bela Fleck (banjo), DJ Logic (turntables), Chris Thile (mandolin), Futureman (percussion), Kirk Whalum (soprano sax), Derek Philip Jones (acoustic bass), Tyler Wood (piano, B3organ), Johnny Neel (B3 organ, vocals), The Big Chief Giampetro Brass Band, The W. O. Smith Community Music School Choir and more.
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments