You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Fusion - CD Reviews>Invisible Threads by Andy Summers & John Etheridge

Invisible Threads by Andy Summers & John Etheridge

Invisible Threads (originally released in 1994 on Mesa Records) is now available on the newly formed Favored Nations Acoustic label, an offspring of Steve Vai’s Favored Nations label.

While Stephane Grappelli & Soft Machine are some of the credits on the John Etheridge resume, his partner on this album Andy Summers, was the guitar player for the mega popular group The Police, in addition he has received recognition as a world-renowned solo artist responsible for several successful solo outings.

On one hand I find it a little frustrating not being able to single out at least a few tracks to talk about, then on the other hand, when they all are so good, it makes my job that much easier and the listening part of it more fun. I then can focus on the broader scope of the entire project, and that is what I intend to do.

I would have to classify most of this music as jazz-fusion with a noticeable Latin flavor to it. Both artists contribute even amounts of their talent and the give and take exchanges develop a musical synchronicity (gee, were have I heard that before? Is it the name of a song by The Police? LOL) that becomes complimentary on each track. The directness of their approach makes for a cooperative mood that feels like it is strongly set in place as the foundation of this entire project. It is more than obvious that these two men know each other very well; otherwise, they would not mesh so easily while playing together. I could not help but think of the great Joe Pass the way the guitar playing is so smooth and fluid on this CD. To make a comparison like that is a compliment of the highest order and I am sure the artists will agree.

This is instrumental paradise acoustic style; check it out, once you do you will not need any further explanation.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Andy Summers & John Etheridge
  • CD Title: Invisible Threads
  • Genre: Fusion
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Reissue Original Release: 1994
  • Record Label: Favored Nations Acoustic
  • Tracks: Broken Brains Moravia Stoneless Counts Lolita Nuages The Big Gliss Counting the Days Radiant Lizards Monks Mood Archimedes Heliotrope Little Transgressions'
  • Musicians: Andy Summers-(Guitar (Acoustic), Bass, Guitar, Guitar (12 String), Producer, Performer, Liner Notes, Bass (Acoustic),Photography), John Etheridge-(Guitar (Acoustic), Bass, Guitar, Guitar (12 String), Performer, Bass (Acoustic));
  • Rating: Five Stars
Morrice Blackwell

Owner and publisher of, Morrice Blackwell is a christian husband dad jazz fan website developing marketing manager basketball playing engineer that lives for photography.

Login to post comments