You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Fusion - CD Reviews>Offering by Larry Coryell

Offering by Larry Coryell

Larry Coryell is considered to be one of the pioneers and original innovators of jazz rock fusion. He got his start in the 60’s and continues to produce great and ground-breaking music to this day.

"Offering" was released in 1972 and it sounds as crisp, new, and captivating as it did when as it was first released. Coryell leads the way with electric jazz fusion compositions as the rest of this band joins in with a standout rhythm section, smooth saxophone, and psychedelic fuzzed out keyboards. His earlier work such as this was previously difficult to find, particularly on CD. There is a demand for his music and you may find that supplies are running short when you seek out the earlier titles by this renowned jazz guitarist. Universe Records (a division of Comet Records) with the cooperation of Vanguard Records, have released Coryell’s albums in a distinguished and attractive manner. The CDs come in a gatefold cardboard case to emulate the original LP releases and there is a list on the inner sleeves of his releases up to 1999. The originality of the colorful artwork is maintained in keeping with the standards set by the previous label and the artists’ work.

If you are in search of artists that have provided the building blocks to the progressive jazz genre, Larry Coryell is one of the most vital and underestimated links in comparison to his peers in the sphere of jazz music. One listen to the monumental opener "Foreplay" shows how Coryell teetered on the edge of rock and jazz consistently throughout all of his compositions. That aspect is what made him such a trail blazer. His work is gaining notoriety daily adding to his ever growing legendary status. This is but one example, there is so much more for you to enjoy and study. The magnificence and ingenuity of the music is what will drive you to seek out more of the same.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Larry Coryell
  • CD Title: Offering
  • Genre: Fusion
  • Year Released: 2001
  • Reissue Original Release: 1972
  • Record Label: Universe
  • Tracks: Foreplay Ruminations Scotland I Offering The Meditation of November 8th Beggars Chant'
  • Musicians: Larry Coryell-guitar; Harry Wilkinson-drums; Mervin Bronson-bass; Steve Marcus-soprano sax; Mike Mandel-electric piano with fuzz-wah;
  • Rating: Four Stars
Morrice Blackwell

Owner and publisher of, Morrice Blackwell is a christian husband dad jazz fan website developing marketing manager basketball playing engineer that lives for photography.

Login to post comments