You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>I'm With The Band by Tierney Sutton

I'm With The Band by Tierney Sutton

Not only is this CD collection Grammy-worthy, it is also one of the great jazz entertainment gems of 2005! Splendid work abounds on this CD, and each performer is in top form.

For those who like the piano stylings of Christian Jacob, he gives some of his finest in every song. Jacob is that special kind of jazz pianist who is consistently innovative, spirited and full of verve. Tierney Sutton's voice is a superb match for his piano stylings and visa versa.

Trey Henry on bass, Kevin Axt on bass, and Ray Brinker on drums add special luster and class to the performances. Each is excellent whether in solo or in group performances.

This was recorded live at Birdland during March 29 and March 30, 2005. The audience is appreciative to these joyful jazz performances.

There are sixteen songs in the collection. Each one is worth the listener's attention, for each one is given a unique interpretation that only Tierney Sutton can achieve vocally!

Among these sixteen songs the listener is sure to find several favorites. Among the songs are "Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise," "Let's Face The Music And Dance," "'S Wonderful," "Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea," a fine and memorable interpretation of Henry Mancini's "Two For The Road," "East Of The Sun (West Of The Moon)" "People Will Say We're In Love," "If I Loved You," "Surrey With The Fringe On Top," "Cheek To Cheek," "Blue Skies," "I Get A Kick Out Of You," "The Lady Is A Tramp," "What A Little Moonlight Will Do," a perfect rendition of "On My Way To You," and "Devil May Care."

This is a gem of a collection, a classic in the making! Everything works beautifully in the performances. Each performer is a standout!

Highly recommended. Very nice!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Tierney Sutton
  • CD Title: I'm With The Band
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Telarc
  • Tracks: Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise, Let`s Face The Music And Dance, `S Wonderful, Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea, Two For The Road, East Of The Sun (And West Of The Moon), People Will Say We`re In Love, If I Loved You, Surrey With The Fringe On Top, Cheek To Cheek, Blue Skies, I Get A Kick Out Of You, The Lady Is Tramp, What A Little Moonlight Will Do, On My Way To You, Devil My Care
  • Musicians: Tierney Sutton (vocals), Christian Jacob (piano), Trey Henry (bass), Kevin Axt (bass), Ray Brinker (drums)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments