You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>I Walk Alone by Ellynne Plotnick

I Walk Alone by Ellynne Plotnick

On I Walk Alone, the sophomore release from Ellynne Plotnick, the jazz vocalist delivers of collection of original tunes and some well-chosen classics. Plotnick is accompanied by pianist Dan Furman, bassist Tom Pietrycha and drummer Yuji Nakamura. This small, low-key combo make the album a cozy, intimate affair. It also allows for plenty of room to experiment.

This is apparent from the start as Dorough and Landesman’s "Small Day Tomorrow" opens the album. It’s a strong choice that showcases Plotnick’s cool style. Her unhurried delivery and thoughtful pauses add drama to the already moody number. Nakamura’s percussive accents provide interesting tension to the song, creating the feel of an approaching storm.

The band works hard to create different emotions. "Chair Song" is one of six Plotnick originals, with Furman having co-writing credit. The song is a quirky number, delivered in a style that’s part singing, part talking. As a result, it has a cabaret feel. "I’m addicted to chairs," sings Plotnick. "I need my fix of cool places to sit." The song is fun, but the arrangement avoids being frilly. Plotnick delivers the punchlines, but the band serves as a well-timed and serious straightman, setting everything up.

Plotnickstraight man also puts a fresh spin on Cole Porter’s "Get Out of Town" (aka "free-jazz, Afro-Cuban freak out"). Here, the Connecticut native and her band create a tense five minutes as they play with different rhythms. PlotnickCubanfreak out tries some wordless vocals during one stretch.

Because I Walk Alone has more than the typical well-traveled standards, it is recommended for listeners looking for something new and different.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Ellynne Plotnick
  • CD Title: I Walk Alone
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: Ellynne Plotnick
  • Tracks: Small Day Tomorrow, If I Should Lose You, The Absence Of Light, I Walk Alone, Chair Song, My Foolish Heart, Don’t Misunderstand Me, Illusions, Uncertainty, Don’t Blame Me, Get Out Of Town (aka free-jazz Afro-Cuban freak out) and While We’re Young
  • Musicians: Ellynne Plotnick (vocals), Dan Furman (piano), Tom Pietrycha (bass) and Yuji Nakamura (drums)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments