You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Linger Awhile by Sarah Vaughan

Linger Awhile by Sarah Vaughan

This new CD was nicely compiled by Eric Miller for Pablo and is drawn from alternate takes and previously unissued material. Sassy Sarah is presented in varied formats including a great eight song segment from the 1957 Newport Jazz Festival. The singer is totally at home with the trio of Jimmy Jones, Richard Davis and Roy Haynes. Some outstanding tunes from the Newport concert are Black Coffee, Poor Butterfly and Time. This is the first time the ‘57 Newport material has appeared on record.All other tracks are alternate takes from Norman Granz studio sessions in 1978, 1979, 1981 and 1982. Particularly impressive is "Teach Me Tonight" with the Oscar Peterson Trio. Another is "I Didn’t Know What Time It Was" featuring Joe Pass and Roland Hanna.

This fine CD showcases the late Sarah in her prime and again where her voice had deepened considerably. If you love Sarah Vaughan and thought you owned them all, you need all this new material.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Sarah Vaughan
  • CD Title: Linger Awhile
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 1999
  • Reissue Original Release: 1957 - 1982
  • Record Label: Pablo Records
  • Musicians: Collectively from all sessions - Piano; Jimmy Jones, Mike Wolford, Jimmy Rowles, George Gaffney, Roland Hanna, Oscar Peterson. Guitar: Joe Pass, Bucky Pizzarelli, Freddy Green. Bass: Richard Davis, Andy Simpkins, Ray Brown. Drums: Grady Tate, Louie Bellson, Harold Jones, Roy Haynes. Other soloists include Frank Foster, Waymon Reed.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments