You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Love Is Here by Julie McConnell

Love Is Here by Julie McConnell

As a debut CD collection, this is one of the finest to come along in a long time. It is refreshingly original in scope. It is entertaining and melodic.

Julie McConnell has one of those rare jazz voices that makes the listener want to hear more. Her voice is clear, sensual, and intimate. She can sing a lyric like few others, her voice always on key and emotionally perfect.

Bryan McConnell on bass is highly innovative and a true master of that instrument, and the drum work of Kevin Green is top-notch. Sky Ladd is a remarkable jazz pianist, and he reminds one of the great Bill Evans on piano. Ladd has one of the most highly individual techniques and complex styles around, and he is definitely one of the finest jazz pianists performing today. Listening to Ladd perform on "The Shadow of Your Smile" and "My Funny Valentine" are memorable listening experiences.

The group shines on each song. "Summertime" and "Gentle Rain" are among the many fine songs which highlight the individual and group gifts of the performers.

There are thirteen songs on the CD. Songs include a fine take on the Cole Porter song, "I've Got You Under My Skin," George Gershwin's "Summertime," a highly romantic version of Ray Noble's "The Very Thought of You," the Rogers & Hart classic "My Funny Valentine," "It's Only A Paper Moon," "Where Is Love?," "The Shadow of Your Smile," "Ill Wind," "Deed I Do," Luis Bonfa's "Gentle Rain," "Isn't It Romantic," "It Don't Mean A Thing," and a unique treatment of the traditional "Amazing Grace."

Each song delivers. Each vocal is superb.

Julie McConnell is splendid on this debut CD. Her debut is personal, and a great treat for the jazz listening audience!

Get a copy and settle back for some of the most lovely treatments of American standards you will hear this year, or any year. Highly recommended.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Julie McConnell
  • CD Title: Love Is Here
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2004
  • Record Label: Intention Arts
  • Musicians: Julie McConnell (vocals), Bryan McConnell (bass), Sky Ladd (piano), Kevin Green (drums)
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments