You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Love Story by Dee Daniels

Love Story by Dee Daniels

The California born Dee Daniels now makes her home in Vancouver, Canada. Although this recording is not brand new material, we received it just recently. Daniels is known to many jazz fans via her earlier work and especially her efforts with Monty Alexander, Ed Thigpen and Toots Thielemans.

Boasting a four-octave range, Dee has proven her abilities in bop, scat and ballads. Having appeared at jazz festivals in Japan, Ireland, Canada, Germany and the US, her confidence shows to advantage on this studio session. "Love Story" is exactly that. Dee Daniels is accompanied by tenor man, Houston Person and the Miles Black trio through her description of a love affair. Each stage of the affair is documented by a well chosen song including such standards as "Skylark", "Tenderly", "My Romance", "What Is This Thing Called love" and "That's Life."

Ms. Daniels and her group have perfected the art of the ballad. The solos of pianist Miles Black and Houston Person are delivered with the both precision and feeling. I really liked the singers swingin' version of "There'll Be Some Changes Made" where Miles Black shows why he is one of the most played pianists on Canadian network radio.

This is a fine CD.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Dee Daniels
  • CD Title: Love Story
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 1999
  • Record Label: Three X D Music
  • Musicians: Dee Daniels (vocals); Houston Person (tenor sax); Miles Black (piano); Blaine Wikjord (drums); Darren Radke (bass); Miles Hall (bass) & Finn Manniche (cello) on track 6.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments