You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Shadow of Your Smile by Kim Liggett

Shadow of Your Smile by Kim Liggett

Kansas City-based Kim Liggett, who made her first stage appearance at 6, is an all-around performer.

At 16, she went to New York, trying her hand at singing, dancing and acting. In 1986, Liggett earned a scholarship to the Academy of Dramatic Arts and studied at the school in both New York and Los Angeles for two years.

Since returning to Kansas City in 1999, she has been performing at local venues, focusing her attention on jazz singing. "Shadow of Your Smile" is her debut CD.

The 13-song collection features a strong assortment of songs, beginning with Matt Dennis’ "Angel Eyes" and closing with the Gershwins’ "They Can’t Take That Away From Me."

The strength of the CD lies in the middle tracks. Liggett’s deep, pleasant voice finds a nice, easy groove on "Anyplace I Hang My Hat Is Home" by Harold Arlen and Johnny Mercer. She then offers a fine version of the Beatles’ delicate "For No One." That’s followed by Antonio Carlos Jobim’s "Agua De Beber," on which Liggett uses the higher and lighter tones of her voice.

Liggett also tackles some lesser-known material, including Oscar Brown’s "Dat Dere" and Willie Dixon’s "Violent Love."

The CD is graced with original, tasteful arrangements. For example, "They Can’t Take That Away From Me" opens with Liggett trading licks with Kim Park’s saxophone. It’s a nice touch on a well-traveled song.

While listening to the CD is an agreeable way to spend an evening, it’s hard to say if the newcomer, at this point, distinguishes herself from a crowded field of female singers.

Nevertheless, "Shadow of Your Smile" is a fine debut.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Kim Liggett
  • CD Title: Shadow of Your Smile
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Record Label: Independent
  • Tracks: Angel Eyes, Dat Dere, Corcovado, Louisiana Sunday Afternoon, Shadow Of Your Smile, Anyplace I Hang My Hat Is Home, For No One, Agua De Beber, No Moon At All, I Thought About You, Violent Love, Dont Explain and They Can't Take That Away From Me'
  • Musicians: Kim Liggett (vocals), Frank Mantooth (piano), Bob Bowman (bass), Danny Embrey (guitar), Rod Fleeman (guitar), Paul Smith (piano), Todd Strait (drums), Kim Park (saxophone), Stan Kessler (trumpet), Craig Akin (bass) and Jake Blanton (guitar)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments