You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Speaking of Love... by Scott Whitfield

Speaking of Love... by Scott Whitfield

Trombonist and bandleader Scott Whitfield pares things down a bit. Instead of fronting one of his two orchestras (The Scott Whitfield Jazz Orchestra East based in New York and The Scott Whitfield Jazz Orchestra West based in Los Angeles, CA,) he’s with his quintet and exercises his vocal chords and lays down lush and lovely instrumental and vocal arrangements for his latest release on Summit Records, Speaking of Love.... This CD is for lovers with a sweet tooth.

Whitfield reaches back to a genre that seems to tempt the stodgiest of us to feel warmth smack dab in the center of our hearts. Along with love song standards, he pens his own, like his rompish "I’m a Romantic Sap" (featuring Marvin Stamm on muted trumpet and Scott Robinson on tenor saxophone,) in which he sings and plays, and the crooner "Two People" (with the Manhattan Vocal Project.) "Only At Lonely Times" is given a blushed Brazilian tinge with guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli and percussionist Memo Acevedo. Scott Robinson’s bass flute is just audible above the lilting rhythm formed by Acevedo and drummer Terry Clarke. This composition is by pianist Rodgers Grant, who’s worked with, among other jazz artists, percussionists Mongo Santamaria and T.S. Monk. Manhattan Transfer member Cheryl Bentyne is in perfect harmony with Whitfield on "Sugar" and "Adagio in Pearl," fashioned from a melody by pianist Bill Evans (also known as "Bill’s Hit Tune.")

Whitfield seems to be playing his hand as of late, releasing Live at Charlie O's, Diamonds for Nat, and The Minute Game since 2005 (all on Summit Records.) It’s an exercise in expression and Whitfield seems to have the resources and energy to put it all out there. Speaking of Love.... is just another card out of the deck. And this time it's the Queen of Hearts.... .

Chocolates anyone?

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Scott Whitfield
  • CD Title: Speaking of Love...
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2007
  • Record Label: Summit Records
  • Tracks: A Beautiful Friendship, Sugar, Come to Me, I’m Getting Sentimental Over You, I’m a Romantic Sap, Adagio in Pearl, Two People, It’s You!, Only at Lonely Times, I Love You, What Went Wrong?, I Can’t Give You Anything But Love, When I Fall in Love, All Of You
  • Musicians: Scott Whitfield (vocals, trombone), Ted Kooshian (piano), Mary Ann McSweeney (bass), Williard Dyson (drums), Terry Clarke (drums - #2, #6, #9, #14), The Manhattan Vocal Project – Pete McGuinness (lead vocal, trombone), Joe Elefante (vocal, alto saxophone), Scott Whitfield (vocal, trombone), Kevin Osborne (vocal, trombone); Special Guests - Cheryl Bentyne (vocals), Marvin Stamm (trumpet, flugelhorn), Scott Robinson (tenor and bass saxophone, bass flute), Bucky Pizzarelli (guitar), Memo Acevedo (percussion)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments