You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Tales Of Wonder by Nnenna Freelon

Tales Of Wonder by Nnenna Freelon

Nnenna Freelon is on a roll.

Her last CD, "Soulcall," earned a pair of Grammy nominations, the fourth and fifth of her 10-year recording career.

As a follow-up, Freelon wraps her silky voice around a dozen of her favorite Stevie Wonder tunes, including such notables as "My Cherie Amour" and "All in Love is Fair."

"I wanted to reinterpret the music we grew up and choose material that was in my bones," Freelon said. "Stevie’s music is art. He has a way of writing so deeply. It takes the improvisational soul to look at these tunes in a different way, and jazz allows us to do that."

The highlight of "Tales of Wonder" is Freelon’s bluesy "Superstition" complete with a terrific little scat thrown in the middle. It’s followed by a touching "The Tears of a Clown," where every word gets coated by Freelon’s honey vocals.

A few of the songs just seem to float away, but fans of both Wonder and Freelon will find the CD worthwhile. Freelon delivers a loving tribute. It is the first vocal album ever done in honor of Wonder. It’s also a solid addition to Freelon's growing catalog of recordings.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Nnenna Freelon
  • CD Title: Tales Of Wonder
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Record Label: Concord
  • Tracks: Overjoyed, Creepin’, Lately, Superstition, The Tears Of A Clown, Black Orchid, My Cherie Amour, Bird Of Beauty, All In Love Is Fair, Send One Your Love, Another Star, Until You Come Back To Me
  • Musicians: Nnenna Freelon, vocals; Gerry Niewood, flute, alto flute, soprano & tenor saxophone; Bonnie Buttacavoli, trumpet; Enrico Granafei, harmonica; Jason Crosby, Andy Stein, violin; Brandon McCune, piano, organ, Fender Rhodes; Dave Samuels, vibraphone, marimba; Chuck Loeb, guitar; Gerald Veasley, bass; Woody Williams, drums; Bashiri Johnson, percussion
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments