You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>The Lovers, The Dreamers, And Me by Jane Monheit

The Lovers, The Dreamers, And Me by Jane Monheit

Oh, dear Jane, it’s been far too long....

Out from the accolade-coated spin of Surrender in 2007, the jazz populace has awaited for this wonderful gift to exhume her vocal sensuality. Jane Monheit vocalizes from within; never digressing from her emotional path, with each single she executes. In 2009, Concord Records will release another moment of passionate "Monheit Moments," which when all is said and done, has her again placed into another unexplored dimension. The Lovers, The Dreamers, And Me is just that; for each cut is an offering to us, in order to feel the pulse of her inner ardor.

I spun this on very complex evening in which stress had its way with me. In a "New York Minute," I was taken hypnotically into a safe place, as her angelic and intimate purr had its medicinal effect. Define it as you wish, but "This Girls in Love with You" is a wonderfully, charismatic arrangement of unadulterated liquid allure. The brief pauses between lyrics makes you feel as though her life may be falling from her eyes, in search of composure.

Jimmy Dorsey’s sway in "I’m Glad There is You" is a compelling interpretation of another great American Songbook revitalization. Ms. Monheit has a few moments where her voice has a conspicuous vocal moment, which brings that adoring Monheit-vibe out.... front stage. Ms. Monheit can, at times, give pioneering jazz expression a new dimension; with just a twist of experimental vocals. A note to those who embrace the technical back-story of a piece, for the arrangement was far beyond expectations. The bond of vocals and arrangement met in a deep, loving relationship on the spin!

As my jazz alter-ego expressed.... the same is so true of the journey taken with Porter’s "Get out of Town" for the arrangement took that piece far beyond the music sheet!

In 2009, our long anticipated wait will reach the finish line as Ms. Monheit embraces our impatient fervor. Many times, the expectations far outweigh the actual when it comes to a new release. Take this spin and embrace it close to your pulse, for it will devour your senses, liquefy your beliefs, and draw you in as one of the premiere jazz projects of 2009. The encore-ready The Lovers, The Dreamers, and Me, is an application of alluring brilliancy!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Jane Monheit
  • CD Title: The Lovers, The Dreamers, And Me
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2009
  • Record Label: Concord Records
  • Tracks: Like a Star,Something Cool,Slow Like Honey,This Girl’s in Love with You,Im Glad There Is You, I Do It For Your Love, I Ain’t Gonna Let You Break My Heart
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments