You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>The World Disappears by Larra Skye

The World Disappears by Larra Skye

The World Disappears is Larra Skye’s first record. As first efforts go, this one has a lot. Larra Skye has composed or co-composed with Adrian Farrugia, Gerard P. Finn Jr., Eric Boucher and Mladen Solaja, eleven songs that are enchanting. These are songs that blend, well-written songs, with solid original lyrics, which pour out a range of emotion, as only a youthful, spirited, female vocalist could manage. Ms. Skye has a pleasing voice and a style that utilizes plenty of vibrato and sustain. Her singing is reminiscent of the pop legend Helen Reddy.

Larra Skye has assembled a group of first-rate musicians. Adrian Farrugia on piano for most tracks is a tremendous delight, leading the rhythm section of Jim Vivian on acoustic bass and Kevin Brow on drums, and tastefully complimenting Ms. Skye’ vocals. The trumpet and flugelhorn playing of Kevin Turcotte is a highlight feature on songs like, "Whisper a Secret," "Turn Up the Stars" and "Down on Your Luck" as well as other tunes. The tenor saxophone playing of Bob Brough is excellent on songs like, "The Only One I’ll Miss," "Make Believe" and "Pretty Little Baby." The music and the songs are pretty, easy listening and provide a little something for everyone.

Produced by Gerard P. Finn Jr. & Larra Skye

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Larra Skye
  • CD Title: The World Disappears
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Audio Maiden Music
  • Tracks: Whisper a Secret, Turn Up the Stars, The Only One I’ll Miss, Down on Your Luck, Open Up Your Eyes, Make Believe, Everything, Love Is, Pretty Little Baby, Always Rolling Seven, The World Disappears
  • Musicians: Larra Skye (vocals), Adrean Farrugia, Eric Boucher (piano), Jim Vivian (upright bass), Kevin Brow (drums), Bob Brough (tenor saxophone), Kevin Turcotte (trumpet & flugelhorn), Geoff Young, Matt Stevens (guitar)
  • Rating: Three Stars
Login to post comments