You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Together Again by Tony Bennett and Bill Evans

Together Again by Tony Bennett and Bill Evans

This is a second Tony Bennett-Bill Evans duet album recorded a year after the Tony Bennett Bill Evans Album release on Fantasy Records (OCJCD 439, 1975). It follows the lead of that earlier recording assimilating Bennett's warm, comfortable vocals with the introspective and minimalist piano work of Evans. Evans is more in evidence on this second meeting than the first, but it remains a good vehicle for Bennett, too. Together Again was originally released in LP form on Bennett's Improv Records label, in CD format by DRG and now by Concord Jazz.

These two recorded meetings have had in my estimation only a lukewarm reception. They are much more deserving pieces of art than a three out of five star rating would indicate. Upon listening to this re-release, I am compelled to give Together Again the edge over the Tony Bennett Bill Evans Album. Both are ruled by Evans’ solid introspective piano tempered with Bennett’s controlled exuberance. Both me sound and feel more comfortable here. This comfort is evident in the effortless ballads like both take s of "You don’t Know What Love Is" and "Maybe September." Other treats are Thad Jones’ "A Child Is Born" (both takes) and "Make Someone Happy."

We, as listeners, take for granted that Tony Bennett will be with us forever. But, Like Bill Evans, one day he will be gone and we will be the less for it. Together Again is a superb memory.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Tony Bennett and Bill Evans
  • CD Title: Together Again
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2003
  • Reissue Original Release: 1977
  • Record Label: Concord Jazz
  • Tracks: Lucky To Be Me; Make Someone Happy; A Child Is Born; The Two Sleepy People; You Must Believe In Spring; You’re Nearer; Maybe September; Lonely Girl; You Don’t Know What Love Is; The Bad And The Beautiful; Who Can I Turn To?; Dream Dancing; A Child Is Born (Alt); You Must Believe In Spring (Alt); . You’re Nearer (Alt); Maybe September (Alt); You Don’t Know What Love Is (Alt); The Bad And The Beautiful (Alt).
  • Musicians: Tony Bennett—Vocals; Bill Evans—Piano.
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments