You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Jazz Vocals - CD Reviews>Verve Unmixed 3 by Verve Unmixed 3

Verve Unmixed 3 by Verve Unmixed 3

It’s hard not to like a collection that includes Nina Simone, Billie Holiday and Sarah Vaughan. Verve Unmixed 3 also gives listeners selections from Anita O’Day, Blossom Dearie and Dinah Washington.

The Verve Unmixed series features original recordings from the label’s extensive catalog. The companion set, Verve Remixed, has the same songs redone by today’s top DJs. The remixed CDs may sound more contemporary, but there’s something to be said for the original numbers done the way the artists intended.

On the third volume of the Unmixed series, Verve delivers a strong collection of jazz vocal numbers, almost all from women. The exceptions are Jimmy Smith’s "Stay Loose" and Hugh Masekela’s "The Boy’s Doin’ It."

The other CDs in this series featured a more eclectic selection of music. This one is dominated by the ladies. Simone, who has been featured on the two previous volumes, has a pair of fine numbers of this CD, "Little Girl Blue" and "Lilac Wine." Holiday and Vaughan are also represented with two songs each.

Verve has a huge archive of material to choose from, giving depth to all of the label's compilations. The tunes found here aren’t necessarily the artists’ signature songs, which makes for a more interesting set. Overall, this is a solid collection worth checking out.

There's one question, however: Where's Ella?

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Verve Unmixed 3
  • CD Title: Verve Unmixed 3
  • Genre: Jazz Vocals
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Verve
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments