You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Latin Jazz / Latin Funk - CD Reviews>Armandos Fire by Oscar Lopez

Armandos Fire by Oscar Lopez

To the lovers of Latin music, the name Oscar Lopez needs no introduction! Lopez is one of the major Latin jazz guitarists performing today, and he is at his best in his latest CD release, ARMANDO'S FIRE.

Oscar Lopez is a master of the guitar, and his magnificent stylings are showcased in this CD which runs 51:04 minutes playing time! 13 selections to captivate the jazz listening audience, with such songs as "Armando's Fire," "Walking Through the Pyramid," "Love Games," "Chile," "Frontiers," "Gypsy Soul," "Latino," "Waiting For You," "Dance of the Sun," "Nostalgia," "Other Faces," "Romance," "Emotions."

What sets Oscar Lopez apart from many jazz guitarists is his ability to hone in on detail and shading without losing his strong sense of melody. Give a listen to "Chile," "Waiting For You," "Nostalgia," and "Romance," as examples of his clear approach to melody with intricate guitar shadings that only Oscar Lopez can create!

ARMANDO'S FIRE is excellent and a prime example of a great contemporary guitarist at work and play in the jazz idiom! "Gypsy Soul" is destined to become everybody's favorite! Oscar Lopez makes it happen on ARMANDO'S FIRE. Excellent.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Oscar Lopez
  • CD Title: Armandos Fire
  • Genre: Latin Jazz / Latin Funk
  • Year Released: 2000
  • Record Label: Narada
  • Musicians: Oscar Lopez, guitarist. Various guest artists.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments