You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Latin Jazz / Latin Funk - CD Reviews>Do It! by Poncho Sanchez

Do It! by Poncho Sanchez

This album is about truths.

Truth: Jazz is timeless. Poncho Sanchez began his association with the Concord Picante label in 1982 and has continued to crank out memorable albums ever since. "Do It!" draws on his musical influences that span decades. In his capable hands the music is vibrant, vital, and today.

Masekela’s Ha Lese Le Di Khanna and Child of the Earth, both of which precede his seminal Grazin’ In The Grass hit of the 60’s, receive wonderful make-overs. Tower of Power’s Squib Cakes hails from the 70’s. Francisco Torres’ high octane title cut Do It! makes its debut on this album.

Kudus go to arrangers David Torres and Francisco Torres for capturing vintage lightning in new bottles.

Truth: Jazz is boundless. Sanchez has invited a diverse group of musicians to join him for "Do It!". The venerable Latin icon Hugh Masekela and seventies titans Tower of Power lend their massive talents to span all stylistic boundaries. The result is an infectious blend of Latin, funk, blues, and soul that places music first and descriptive phrases last.

Truth: Jazz, when played properly, demands that at least three body parts be in motion at all times. Sanchez and his group definitely play it properly and, on tunes like Tin Tin Deo, Do It!, and Short Dog come close to invoking a fourth body part.

Truth: Jazz is joy embodied. Sanchez has surrounded himself with top shelf musicians capable of tuning in to and giving back the energy and pure enjoyment he himself exudes. You can hear the smiles between the notes.

Standout musicians on this album are many, but special notice needs to be given to Francisco Torres, whose enthusiastic trombone and exceptional arrangements infuse each track with an uncommon excitement and energy.

This is a great album lovingly culled from years of musical influences and heritages by a master musician that will retain its luster, fervor, and relevance for decades to come.

And that’s the truth.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Poncho Sanchez
  • CD Title: Do It!
  • Genre: Latin Jazz / Latin Funk
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Concord
  • Tracks: Each song showcases the remarkable and enduring talents of Poncho Sanchez.
  • Musicians: Poncho Sanchez is the leader, and he performs on congas, bells, and lead vocals on
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments