You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Latin Jazz / Latin Funk - CD Reviews>Flamenco Jazz Latino by Mark Towns

Flamenco Jazz Latino by Mark Towns

FLAMENCO JAZZ LATINO is a knockout of a Latin CD featuring the guitar stylings of gifted Mark Towns, with guests Hubert Laws playing flute with Rainel Pino on piano in the unique song, "Wind on the Mountain," and Kirk Whalum playing tenor saxophone on "Medley: The Way / La Via." A showcase for the guitar work of Mark Towns!

The 12 selections include "Touch," "Like the Wind," "After the Rain," and "Salamanca," among others. A highly melodic CD, this collection is enjoyable and should find new listeners for the always imaginative work of Mark Towns.

What sets this CD apart from others is its fresh imagination and handling of different Latin rhythms, such as the "guajira" rhythm found in "Sabrosa" highlighted with great skill by Rainel Pino on piano, Mark Towns on electric Spanish guitar, Jorge Cro-Cro Orta on congas, timbales, cowbell, guiro, and the talented Anibal Ambert on bass. For those who enjoy jazz in a Latino mode, Mark Towns' FLAMENCO JAZZ LATINO will give hours of enjoyable listening enjoyment!!!!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Mark Towns
  • CD Title: Flamenco Jazz Latino
  • Genre: Latin Jazz / Latin Funk
  • Year Released: 2000
  • Record Label: Salongo Records
  • Musicians: Mark Towns (guitar), various guest artists
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments