You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Latin Jazz / Latin Funk - CD Reviews>Food For Your Latin Soul by Grupo - X

Food For Your Latin Soul by Grupo - X

Formed by trombonist Jonny Enright in 1996, Grupo-X issued their successful debut CD, X-Posure in 2001. The young band impressed us with its considerable fire at the time.

Grupo-X has seen little personnel change since the first disc. However, one small change has made the world of difference. That transformation was achieved by the addition of a second trombone. It enabled the band to turn up the heat another notch.

All songs on Food For Your Latin Soul are penned by band members Jonny Enright, Oily Drew, Jimmy LeMessurier, Carlos Pena and Simon Edwards. The lively tunes really bring the band’s power and fire to the forefront while the twin trombones add punch and smack to the arrangements.

Happily, the singers with the group have not changed with Carlos Pena and Lisa Millett sharing the vocal spotlight. Lisa Millett was listed as a guest performer on the debut recording and it’s great to see her as a permanent member now. Millett’s voice may be heard on six tracks including our favorites "You Qualify" and "For A Life." Carlos Pena lends his vocal prowess to another gem in the form of "Que Suene La Banda" which he co-wrote with Jonny Enright.

Reed player Finn Peters offers exciting solos on alto, tenor and flute throughout the album. The rhythm section of LeMessurier, Eckford, Crawford, Edwards and Drew sparkle ceaselessly.

Perhaps you’ll be surprised to find that Grupo-X isn’t about to be found in Havana, Buenos Aires or Rio de Janiero. Grupo-X is from England and may be heard in some of London’s fine venues. This band is truly worth a close listen! You can hear samples on their web space.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Grupo - X
  • CD Title: Food For Your Latin Soul
  • Genre: Latin Jazz / Latin Funk
  • Year Released: 2006
  • Record Label: Loft Recordings
  • Tracks: Get Through To You, This Must Be The Place, Que Suene La Banda, Sunshine, Spare Ribs, X-Perience, You Qualify, J’s Joint, Let’s Get Connected, For A Life, Quijada Cajon Y Cencerro.
  • Musicians: Jonny Enright (leader, trombone, vocals, Hammond organ), Trevor Mires (trombone), Finn Peters (alto, tenor saxes, flute, Moog), Jimmy LeMessurier (timbales, drums, cajon, bota, congas), Pete Eckford (congas, bongos, misc. percussion), Simon Edwards (bass, marimbula, mandocello, Hammond organ, background vocals), Oily Drew (guitars, background vocals), John Crawford (piano, Wurlitzer piano), Carlos Pena (lead & background vocals), Lisa Millett (lead vocals on 1,2,4,6,7,10), Julie-Ann Gillett Smith (violin on 1,6), Janina Kopinska (viola on 1,6).
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments