You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Latin Jazz / Latin Funk - CD Reviews>Not Your Typical New Yorker by Joseph Diamond

Not Your Typical New Yorker by Joseph Diamond

Not Your Typical New Yorker is a debut CD from composer-pianist Joseph Diamond, and it is a genuine pleasure to introduce this young pianist to JAZZREVIEW.COM. Joseph Diamond is a find, a new discovery in the Latin Jazz piano music world, and his talents are great. Joseph Diamond has the smooth, sensitive skills of a Peter Nero coupled with the techniques of a Bill Evans blended with the artistry of a Dave Brubeck, and comes out uniquely his own sound & interpreter of jazz sounds in a Latin vein! He is that good!

This is one new jazz pianist I would suggest you get his CD right away and start enjoying his special blends of musical adventures! His fellow musicians compliment his sound, and visa versa. This is a perfect CD with everything working well together, and each performer contributing to the whole colorful landscape of musical sounds!

Some of the 11 selections include "M & M," "Little Past Midnight," "Julia," "Hope," "Broken Heart," "Not Your Typical New Yorker," among other excellent songs. Each song is a special gem of musical enjoyment. There is a wonderful jazzy, sweet, sensuous, lively, joyful feel to these songs written and performed by Joseph Diamond. "Not Your Typical New Yorker" is a jazz classic in the making! This CD deserves a lot of air play time!

For something very good and different, this is the one! A highly enjoyable, remarkable, and important CD sums up "Not Your Typical New Yorker" in three words! Get a copy and enjoy a new talent on the scene! Excellent!

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Joseph Diamond
  • CD Title: Not Your Typical New Yorker
  • Genre: Latin Jazz / Latin Funk
  • Year Released: 1999
  • Record Label: Basileus Music
  • Musicians: Joseph Diamond, piano. Vince Cherico, drums. Leo Traversa, bass. Drew Francis, flutes, tenor saxophones, keyboards. Pocholo Segundo, conga. Emedin Rivera, percussion. Rudy Romero, bongo. Norman Hedman, conga solo on track 9. Joe Barnes, percussion. Sharon Thorne & Drew Francis with synthesizer arrangements on tracks 4,5,7,8,10. All songs written by Joseph Diamond.
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments