You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Latin Jazz / Latin Funk - CD Reviews>The Gathering by Caribbean Jazz Project

The Gathering by Caribbean Jazz Project

Co-led by Dave Samuels and Dave Valentin, the Caribbean Jazz Project gives the jazz listening audience a great listening treat with their release, THE GATHERING. Everything about this collection is innovative and imaginative.

There are 9 songs on this wonderful collection of Latin Jazz. Among the songs are found "Rendezvous," "Stolen Moments," "See You In A Minute," "The Gathering," "Bemsha Swing," "Libertad," and "The Path." The audience will find each song performance sparkles with imagination and a keen sense of shared continuity.

Paquito D'Rivera appears on alto saxophone and performs with verve and style. Dario Eskenazi gives memorable piano solo work. If you are a fan of the Latin Jazz sounds of the Caribbean Jazz Project, you will fall in love with this musical outing. The jazz performances and songs are topnotch.

Each performance is enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Caribbean Jazz Project
  • CD Title: The Gathering
  • Genre: Latin Jazz / Latin Funk
  • Year Released: 2002
  • Record Label: Concord Records
  • Tracks: Thelonious Monks Bemsha Swing performed as a mambo is innovative and fun to listen to.'
  • Musicians: Dave Samuels, composer, vibes, marimba. Dave Valentin, composer, flute. Dario Eskenazi, piano. Ruben Rodriquez, bass. Dafnis Prieto, drums and timbales. Richie Flores, congas. Roberto Quintero, congas. Special Guest Artist: Paquito DRivera on alto saxophone.'
  • Rating: Five Stars
Login to post comments