You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Other - CD Reviews>Long Goodbye by David Murray Quartet

Long Goodbye by David Murray Quartet

This is one CD that I've been eagerly anticipating, and it does not disappoint. It features Murray along with D.D. Jackson, Santi Debriano, and L.T. Lewis. There are four Pullen compositions, along with two by Jackson and one by Butch Morris. The Don Pullen songs are Common Ground, Resting On The Road (both from Sacred Common Ground), Gratitude (from The Sixth Sense), and El Matador (from Ode To Life).D.D.'s Out Of A Storm, which he wrote while a student of Pullen's, would fit comfortably in the Pullen/Adams tradition. This CD is as good as music gets. It has inside/outside playing that rivals anything I've heard in a long time. Melodies are strong, and imagination is intense. It's definitely my CD of the year.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: David Murray Quartet
  • CD Title: Long Goodbye
  • Genre: Other
  • Year Released: 1997
  • Record Label: Unknown
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments