You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Other - CD Reviews>More Music From Ray (CD/DVD) by Charles Ray

More Music From Ray (CD/DVD) by Charles Ray

I suppose that I am like many others, I have discovered the music of Ray Charles after his death. It is most unfortunate, but as they say-better late than never. I knew he was an ever present force in music forever but never sought out his music for some reason. The one thing that I have learned during my short exposure to this man’s great music is one fact; he could take any song and make it his own. His versatility and style was one of a kind. There is no doubt that a musical genius like Charles will never come our way again.

More Music From Ray is the second volume of Charles classics from the movie soundtrack Ray. This CD has an accompanying DVD with three tracks pulled from the recent O-Genio DVD that covers a live performance in Brazil from 1963. The CD is jam packed with vintage Charles music, 17 tracks of jazz, blues and pop brilliance that remind you of this legendary performer’s incredible magnetism and professional polish. Each track is Ray at the peak of his powers with his voice and musicianship.

Its real tough picking favorites on this CD, I truly loved every cut. When push comes to shove, I would say that "Lonely Avenue," "Baby, It’s Cold Outside" and "Makin’ Whoopee" are my favorites. The only other thing I can add.... this is wonderful timeless music that really needs no introduction, its Ray Charles, and I rest my case.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Charles Ray
  • CD Title: More Music From Ray (CD/DVD)
  • Genre: Blues
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Rhino Records
  • Tracks: Leave My Woman Alone Lonely Avenue Rockhouse, Pts. 1-2 I Believe to My Soul Losing Hand Im Movin' On But On the Other Hand Baby Baby, It's Cold Outside The Danger Zone Busted Howard Makin' Whoopee Let's Go Get Stoned Drifting Blues Baby Let Me Hold Your Hand Drown in My Own Tears/You Don't Know Me Every Day I Have the Blues America the Beautiful DVD Don't Set Me Free [multimedia track] Carry Me Back to Old Virginny [multimedia track] Ô-GENIO Trailer [multimedia track]
  • Rating: Five Stars
Morrice Blackwell

Owner and publisher of, Morrice Blackwell is a christian husband dad jazz fan website developing marketing manager basketball playing engineer that lives for photography.

Login to post comments