You are here:Home>CD Reviews>Progressive - CD Reviews>Photosphere by Robert Dick & Ursel Schlicht

Photosphere by Robert Dick & Ursel Schlicht

Recorded in January of 20004 in front of a live crowd in Germany, Robert Dick and Ursel Schlicht blend an excellent selection of piano and flute, original songs written by them both called Photosphere.

We start with song two titled "Emergence". Coming in at just over 11 minutes in length, this combines the flute play of Dick and with a great slow piano styling of Schlicht. You may think that a live recording that you may miss something, a note here and a note there but this recording and the strong playing by both dismisses that notion.

Ending the five song album is a song called "Fragments". This combined with its distant cousin song "Faust", leaves debate on which songs one could pick as the best of the album. Both each have what would think to be normal flute/piano togetherness. Mostly what appears to be chamber like, Dick especially shines "Faust" especially with Schlicht picking up the accolades for "Fragments".

These five songs are recorded perfectly and played perfectly. Robert Dick is a flutist that has stretched over the past 25 years and being called the Hendrix of the flute, it shows how he has taken the instrument and brought it ahead of its time. From her 1995 release titled Statements, Ursel Schlicht is a blend of jazz and classical piano. This album is how a true duo album could be played.

Track one is "Lapsis Blues". Track four is "Piece in Gamelan Style". These five tracks are breath taking, the breath has been taken by Robert Dick and played out, through his watchtower flute.

Additional Info

  • Artist / Group Name: Robert Dick & Ursel Schlicht
  • CD Title: Photosphere
  • Genre: Progressive
  • Year Released: 2005
  • Record Label: Nemu Records
  • Tracks: Lapis Blues, Emergence, Faust, Piece In Gamelan Style, Fragments
  • Musicians: Robert Dick (flute), Ursel Schlicht (piano)
  • Rating: Four Stars
Login to post comments